+353 (0)95 22630

Letterfrack Poetry Trail Book with CD

 A beautiful book to prompt a stroll or a keepsake from the Letterfrack Poetry Trail and Connemara National Park


Out of stock

 A book to prompt a stroll or a keepsake from the Letterfrack Poetry Trail

The Letterfrack Poetry Trail was conceived as a fitting celebration to mark the thirtieth anniversary of Conamara Environmental, Educational & Cultural Centre (CEECC).  It was launched by President Michael D. Higgins on 17th October 2014.

The Poetry Trail consists of nine specially-commissioned poems from leading poets in Ireland. In the following year, 2015, President Higgins gifted one of his poems for inclusion on the Poetry Trail.  The poems explore the theme of place. They are located on plaques in the Connemara National Park, the Connemara West Centre and the village of Letterfrack thus linking the three sites and creating the opportunity for a meditative walk.  This book contains all ten poems with additional information on the poets and on the poems.


Since its launch, The Letterfrack Poetry Trail has seen thousands of visitors descend on the trail that includes poems by President Michael D. Higgins, Paula Meehan, Louis de Paor, Mary O’Malley, Joan McBreen, Eva Bourke, Theo Dorgan, Rita Ann Higgins, Moya Cannon and Michael Gorman.

On June 4th, during Bog Week in Connemara ( May 28th – June 5th ), there was a launch of the Letterfrack Poetry Trail book with an accompanying CD.

The accompanying CD carries recordings of all ten poets reading their work, original musical compositions by Conor Keane, and a song, in sean-nós style, by Séamus Ó Flatharta.

Conamara Environmental Education & Cultural Centre was founded in 1984 by local school teachers Leo Hallissey, Clare O'Toole and Aingeal Ni Chonghaile to raise environmental awareness and provide heritage education at a local and national level. The centre is located in the village of Letterfrack, North West Conamara, Co. Galway, Ireland. Over the years the CEECC have won various awards for their work... Taisce50, Better Ireland Award, Local Heroes Award, ESB Conservation Award, Iarnrod Eireann Award, Galway County Council Premier Arts Award, Galway County Council Heritage Award (Premier Award).
"We are deeply indebted to the CEECC who have worked so diligently to develop environmental awareness in the local community, in the schools and indeed at national level. The contribution is invaluable, indeed essential. Through seminars, exhibitions, field studies, publications and a host of other activities, they have contributed most impressively to our understanding of the great bounty nature has bestowed upon us." Dr. Patrick J. Hillary, President of Ireland 1976-1990
"I am delighted to be associated with the pioneering work of Conamara Environmental Educational & Cultural Centre. I congratulate them on their inspiring work" President Michael D. Higgins

Contact details for the Letterfrack Poetry Trail:

Leo Hallissey,
Conamara Environmental Education
and Cultural Centre,
Renvyle, Co. Galway, Ireland.
Tel: 353 (0)85-1154629
Email: ceecc84@gmail.com


Additional information

Weight 0.2 kg
Dimensions 14 × 1 × 21 cm

Product categories

Share This

Share this post with your friends!

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop